To What End?

The latest National Geographic magazine is about space exploration.  My first thought was why.  Are we spending billions of tax dollars just for knowledge?  Knowledge is great but not when there’s no plan to use it.  We still don’t have a cure for cancer or heart disease.  We produce vast amounts of garbage without vast amounts of places to contain it.  People are still hungry.  I believe everything requiring time and/or money should have a purpose.  Purposes like curing diseases, keeping our world and our bodies physically fit, relieving stress, or finding joy.  I think finding a reason, other than knowledge, is both a great motivator and inhibitor, giving me time to consider the result in order to be successful or prevent unnecessary actions.  I’ve asked why am I doing this after discovering unhealthy patterns ingrained in my life, and then finding a way to fix them.  I read about a reward, having worldwide impact, of $3 million dollars in gold, to whoever contributes the most to ending blindness by 2020!  Finding a reason to heal myself after my husband’s death didn’t impact the world, but it did impact my world.  What’s not worth asking the question, to what end?

Leave a comment