Math is Easy

I have two apples.  I eat one.  How many are left?  Using simple math, 2 – 1 = 1.  From The Geometry of Sisters: “Words get in the way.  Numbers don’t lie.”  Everything adds up nice and neat when it comes to numbers, but not so with life.  Things often don’t add up so it will take re-figuring – addressing issues, finding solutions.  It’ll take re-arranging – figuring out how to make everything fit or at least work somewhat harmoniously together.  It will take adjusting equations – actively directing life towards desired results.  Words are a good start, but only if you use them to kick yourself in the pants.  I’ve used words to work through and find solutions to alone.  I’ve also written about how unproductive it is letting the same ones continually exit your mouth (as if talking about getting a new job will land one in my lap).  I lost my husband.  2 – 1 = 1, but it’s not math that will help me understand why two was split in half, and all the rest that would follow.  It is sifting through multitudes of ambiguous words to find those that precisely express every thought and feeling, that will address, and bring about solutions to, life’s hardest equations.

Leave a comment