Not Just “Keep Away”

After watching a hockey game where both teams played excellent defense, I thought, you can’t win with just excellent defense.  Somebody has to make an offensive play, shooting towards the net, to not end up with a 0-0 tie.  Hockey is the games, “keep away” and darts, played at the same time, except the darts can travel 80+ mph, and instead of using hands with amazing opposable thumbs, it’s skates and a stick!  I can’t win with just excellent defense in the game of life either.  Playing “keep away” to block the “puck” currently being hurled at my life can keep a tie going forever.  I’ll need to take control of the puck and start playing darts, messing with its direction if I want a chance at breaking the tie.  Susan 0, Life 0 isn’t a score that inspires me to head back to center ice for another “face off”.  Only being a clear winner or loser can do that, therefore I must be my own goalie, AND in the midst of slippity-do-dah, find a way to shoot the puck towards life’s net – a remarkable 80+ mph slap-shot, or an up close and personal tap.  Score or not, keep shooting.

The intro to this blog on Twitter: The game of life is like the game of hockey. It takes more than defensive moves to win or lose, and I’ll accept either to not prolong a 0-0 tie.

Leave a comment