Don’t Wrap The Present

(Already Included, continued)  For my hurtful, unhappy past to be impactful forever, I’d have to “Wrap everything surrounding me in endure”. (What’s The Alternative? blog, Dec-2020)  Doesn’t sound as tasty as wrapping scallops in bacon!  Endure, means tolerate, withstand, which means continually, noticeably present. The present is simply “right now”, unable to pull anything in because there’s no room.  Unfortunately, I’m not unable.  I can choose to pull the hurtful, unhappy past forward, to wrap it around “right now”, to feel its presence.  But here’s the thing, I was hurt, I was unhappy, and if it’s enough to change me, it’s already done its work, and if I’ve done mine, it can’t hurt me now unless I let it.  The future works the same way.  When I use worry or fear to pull it back into the present, I wrap every moment with, will happen.  But here’s the thing, I might be hurt, I might be unhappy, but it can’t change me or do its work just yet, it can’t hurt me now unless I let it.  A weighted blanket helps me surrender to sleep; impactful, not noticeably present.  But wrapped around me all day?  Unnecessary weight to be endured, like hurts from either side of “right now”.

Intro to this blog on Twitter: The best way to keep a hurtful, unhappy past or a scary, uncertain future, from impacting the present, is to stop using them as wrapping paper.

Leave a comment