Influence My Spending

““Life asked death, why do people love me but hate you?  Death responded, because you are a beautiful lie and I am a painful truth.”” (unknown, the book of two ways)  When I took my first breath, I didn’t know it was life, therefore it was up to someone else to get me to awareness.  Life wasn’t something I was fed, but something that just unfolded before me.  So why is life a lie?  It’s real, just like death, but life is often seen as mine to do with as I please; my entire life is under my control – lie #1.  Life is often lived like it’s guaranteed; I will wake up tomorrow – lie #2.  Life is often lived as if death is far from certain; I have lots of time – lie #3.  Beautiful life lies; their opposites, painful death truths.  Truth is always welcomed and appreciated, except when it comes to death.  But who said death has to be welcomed and appreciated?  Acknowledge is close enough to apply thankful, appreciate, and cherish to every minute I’m given.  Do we live so we can die?  No, we die because we’ve lived, therefore the certainty of death should influence how I spend the uncertainty of my life. (to be continued)

Intro on Twitter: Loving life is a normal thing to do. What about death? Often the opposite, but I don’t have to love death to acknowledge its certainty and therefore the gift of all the minutes given to me, and those I love.

One thought on “Influence My Spending

Leave a comment