Hugs

A note on my wall says, Feel like Crap? Call Diane/Lois/Linda.  Why is it when I do feel like crap, I ignore the note, even though every time I’ve followed its advice,  I’ve felt so much better after calling?  I don’t want to bother them.  It’s nothing.  It’ll be better soon.  I’m just tired (which multiplies everything wrong by 10!).  Well, I’m not bothering them, it is something, it may be better soon, but possibly later.  A phone call can’t fix just tired, but calling works the same way as sleep, by restoring my physical and mental strength.  The last time I called, my spirits were lifted by putting out the trash I had collected in my life, and by laughter.  As the call ended, my friend said, I wish I lived closer so I could give you a hug!  My response was, you just did!  All the single-word synonyms for the word hug involves bodies, something not included during a phone call.  There were a couple two-word synonyms.  One involves a bear, and the other, hold close, could mean something just as special without the bodies; something easily accomplished by careful listening and caring words – hugs!

Leave a comment