Possible

Last night I was reminded that all things are possible.  I slept 7 hours straight!  Sleep is something that’s eluded me for as long as I can remember.  As a kid, my hearing was exceptional.  I had the normal kid selective hearing during the day but at night I heard every little noise, waking up often.  I’ve gotten less frustrated over the years when it comes to sleep by repeating the phrase, at least I’m resting.  Doesn’t always work, but it helps.  Believing in what’s possible is hard in the face of something seen as certain, something I seem to accept more readily than possible.  There are many things in this world that are certain, like 2 + 2 = 4, and the infamous, death and taxes.  Advances in medical technology are chipping away at certainty statements like “you’ll never walk again”.   I think it certain that I’ll never find love again.  It’s way easier to believe than it’s possible based on where I live and my social life, or rather the lack thereof.  I ask myself, do I want to, need to?  If not, why not?   And if so, can I find it in myself to truly believe in the possibility?

Leave a Reply

