Giving Up

I saw a clip from America’s Got Talent of a singer/songwriter.  There’s been quite a few of those on the show, but this one lost her hearing at 18.  She said something remarkable and powerful.  “. . . I gave up, but I want to do more with my life than just give up.”  She lost something that she’d might never get back, an excellent reason for wanting to give up.  Many things can be lost, like an arm or in my case, my husband, something that makes it possible to continue with my life and yet the pain of that loss makes continuing seem impossible.  And yet I did, in the smallest sense of the word; breathing, working, eating, anything where I could use cruise control.  At some point I woke up and realized I had given up, I had stopped moving forward.  I’m not sure what made me wake up, but I know now I could have taken steps to bring it about sooner rather than later (Step Blogs Feb/March 2017).  It’s hard to figure out how to stop giving up, but it can’t be any harder than being stuck in the sadness of that moment of loss. There is a way if there’s a life.

Leave a Reply

