Potential

When I first moved my life to the Adirondacks, I started running the lake, about 3 miles.  I never ran before, so I was proud of myself for doing so, in my mid 50’s.  I loved the challenge, the adrenaline, and the calm after, as if my body was thanking me.  A couple years ago I injured my knee, and even though surgery repaired it, my knee won’t ever be the same, so running is no longer an option.  My knee is fine for walking around the lake, a concession I’ll make because my limitations are reasonable and workable.  I realize my life was also injured and won’t ever be the same, because having my husband back isn’t an option.  I can say living my life without him is fine, a concession I’ll make because the alternative of not fine is nowhere I want to live.  My limitations are the changes I choose to leave alone, because of fear, complacency, or excuses.  Injuries happen.  They change how I move forward, which starts with choices – what to bring with me and what to leave behind.  Not mourning the left behind but exploring the potential of all I still am and have.

Leave a Reply

