Saying Nothing

From Gray’s Anatomy:  “We’re petrified of saying too much, or saying it wrong, when the truth is, the only wrong thing you can say, is nothing at all”.  Not speaking was my choice when my husband and I argued, and even though it didn’t work, I didn’t fix it.  Saying too much isn’t fearful to me because I’m like a clam, shutting up tight at the first sight of confrontation.  But some people are like an undertaker, maintaining a coffin’s not completely sealed until the last nail is driven in.  For me, all the right words were missing and I just realized why.  Anger, directed at me, scared them all away.  I wanted time to think about what to say, but used that time to just be away from him, so if I came up with anything, it was too little, too late.  I believe it’s wrong to say nothing, whether it’s an argument, offering solutions, or expressing feelings.  A great beginning, like “once upon a time”, brings with it, anticipation.  So will a few opening words, like from my heart or hear me out, setting the tone for what’s coming, offering humility, and giving ears the opportunity to listen.

Leave a Reply

