Time IS My Friend

Healing and time go hand in hand.  There are schools for someone who loses their sight, to train the rest of their body to prevail against that loss.  When a soldier loses an arm, they’ll spend months in rehabilitation to train the rest of their body to prevail against that loss.  They might get a new arm, which can do amazing things, but won’t ever be as perfect as the one lost.  It’s easily understood by others that it’ll take time to adjust when such losses occur, and easily encouraged that school or physical therapy is needed.  Once in a healing program, the person enduring the loss, will need to work hard and be patient in order to recover as much as they can.  There are no such schools or rehabilitation facilities for those who lose their spouse.  My loss is unseen; physically I am still whole.  How then do I train my heart and mind to prevail against my loss?  How then do I rehabilitate, or recreate, my entire being to live when half of me is missing?  I must take, and be given, time to adjust before filling that void, making time my friend instead of my enemy.

Leave a Reply

