Heart of a Friend

Some people think family is everything.  They’d do anything for their family and attend every family event.  Not me.  Family is something you’re born, or married, into.  Without this single connection we wouldn’t be friends because there’s nothing to base friendship on.  We know each other only because we just happen to be stuck with each other.  My family doesn’t need me and I don’t need them.  It’s no one’s fault, it just is.  For me, adding family before the word event doesn’t necessarily make it any less stressful than  other social events.  It depends on how many of my friends are there.  The ones where I can see past the familiar family face, to find the heart of a friend.  My friends need me and I need them.  They are the ones I’d do anything for.  Distance doesn’t matter so I see them and we talk as often as we can.  The connections run deep and there are many.  I think about them often.  I offer my help and ask for theirs.  I share my life, not just the good, but the bad as well, and am truly interested in theirs.  More than stuck with; joined at the heart!

Leave a Reply

