Unconditional Love

I saw this plaque in a shop window: The thing I love best about my home is who I share it with.  Nice sentiment but I doubt it’s true.  People are complicated and difficult.  I’m complicated and difficult.  Why would anyone think making more than one person live under the same roof would make them love each other more?  I love my bed, workshop, TV, and books; inanimate things that neither love me nor hurt me.  I should include my kitties too for one reason; they show me unconditional love.  I’m sure they don’t understand and get ticked off when I disturb their sleep several times a night, but that’s not what they show me.  It doesn’t matter what I do or don’t do, they love me.  Imagine what relationships would look like, in the midst of complicated and difficult, if each person went in the direction of unconditional love first.  No matter what, our eyes, hearts, and minds would choose to see with unconditional love first, so that everything said and done would be through this amazing filter.  How much weight would be given complicated and difficult if this was my approach?  Damn, if the answer isn’t zero!

Leave a Reply

