Change

Driving home last night, with traffic moving at a snail’s pace, I had time to admire the high peaks of the Adirondacks; a massive blanket of green with the highest peaks in the clouds.  Yesterday morning on Middle Saranac Lake, before the fog lifted, I was treated to breathtaking views of the small islands peeking through the mist.  I am in awe of the beauty here and amazed that I live in such a place.  We used to visit here in the late 80’s and 90’s but never thought my life would end up here.  The Alpine Mall, where my daughter and son’s stores are, looks and smells exactly the same, only the stores have changed.  It’s great to have things that don’t change, things you can count on and hold on to.  It’s also great to have things that do change because change has the ability to either spice things up or make it possible to survive.  Whether scary or exciting, unavoidable or by choice, long and difficult or quick and easy, change is the one sure way for me not only to become what I need to be, but more than I ever thought I could be.

Leave a Reply

