Life’s Pieces

Growing up, I didn’t think much about how I wanted my life to be.  I wanted to get married and have children, and that’s about it.  I never had any serious boyfriends in high school so I decided to go to college for the only job I thought I’d be good at, a math teacher.  I never considered going away to college because I didn’t know about financial aid or loans, so I commuted from home with my parent’s car.  I paid for my first year of college with money I saved, and then got married and didn’t go back until eight and a half years later, to be an accountant, when our son was five and daughter, six months old.  The pieces of my life as a wife, mother, and homemaker came first, and student, second, until I graduated seven semesters later and started my career.  This time I did think about what I wanted my life to be, in order to choose the right full-time career to add another piece, without impacting greatly any of other three most important pieces of me.  I had those three pieces first, instead of last, and that made all the difference.

Leave a Reply

