Enough

I’ve thought a lot about happiness lately, why I’m not happy, and what would make me happy.  Why is usually because I’m missing something, but regarding what would make me happy, I don’t have a clue.  I’ve considered what my life might be like if I made more money, had a full-time accounting job, was fully retired, had another man in my life, or had great hair and a toned body, but not one of these would make me happy.  “Happiness isn’t about getting what you want all the time.  It’s about loving what you have and being grateful for it.”  I’m not sure who said it, but I’m thankful they did.  The second statement is the clue I’ve been looking for.  Love what I have and be grateful for it and I have lots, like my own home, my two children and their spouses, grandchildren, a few great friends that really care about me, the best wine in the world, time to pursue my hobbies, not getting up at 5:30am, trips to Alaska, and enough money to get what I need plus some extras.  I need to stop thinking if only, and start believing what I have is enough.

Leave a Reply

