Battling Hard

Why is it harder to be neat than messy? Time?  Why is it harder to eat healthy than junk food? Taste and pleasure?  Why is it harder to stay than leave?  Effort?  Why is it harder to exercise than sit and watch TV? Inspiration?  Why are relationships so hard?  Different expectations?  I’m trying to picture a world without any hard things in it; where everything that needed to be faced, accomplish, learned, or decided was easy.  There would be no such thing as keep trying, failure, competition, or ulcers, and sameness would abound.  The many ways to conquer hard is one of the main reasons we are all so different.  Not being able to defeat hard doesn’t necessarily mean weakness; it means my limited natural ability needs help, therefore I need to work on my endurance and determination.  Just like a battle, I must decide how to face it; to retreat and postpone, face it again and again, or give up and let it defeat me.  My husband’s death is the hardest thing I’ve ever faced.  This hard seems determined to win, therefore I’m choosing to face it again and again, because I won’t let hard win this battle.

Leave a Reply

