Ponder Fonder

I don’t know about you, but my engine works best at 70ᴼ or less.  I was recently in Florida with 90ᴼ temps making me melt like the Wicked Witch of the West.  Here’s a big thank you to whoever invented air conditioning!  The saying, absence makes the heart grow fonder, is certainly true.  I really appreciated the breezy 65ᴼs during my walk this morning; no melting or sauntering.  The saying is certainly true for relationships.  When my husband and I lived apart for 7 years because of my job, I felt more love and appreciation than I did in the 20 years prior put together.  Time was precious, so arguments were few, and thoughtfulness and understanding plentiful during the weekends we spent together.  I realize now, I had spent too many years treating my husband as if he were a chronic condition; one that is tolerated, addressed only during flare ups, with unappreciated intermittent moments of remission.  I accepted he was there but didn’t embrace he was there.  I wanted and needed him in my life but lost track of why.  So I will do my best to ponder how to make my heart grow fonder towards those around me.

Leave a Reply

