Be Kind

Yesterday I tried to find a solution for something difficult I continually need help with.  I don’t think I could have put any more effort into it and yet I failed.  The effort was mentally, physically, and emotionally draining.  My defeat made me think of the saying, treat other people like you want to be treated.  I try my best to treat others with kindness, patience, encouragement, and understanding.  So what does this have to do with my defeat?  I came up with another saying; treat yourself like you treat other people.  I was being hard on myself, calling myself incompetent, weak, a failure, and old.  I would never do that to another person and never tolerate anyone doing that to me and yet I had no trouble doing it to myself.  I’m the only one impacted, no one will ever know, and there’s no one to hold me accountable or say I’m being mean, so I let it go, no harm done.  Really? No harm done?  Harming myself, unseen, yet real, can be stopped by saying out loud, that’s just downright mean, whenever I start beating myself up.  I know I can be kind to me and I will.

Leave a Reply

