Double Dog Dare

“When we are no longer able to change a situation – we are challenged to change ourselves.” (Viktor E. Franks)  My first reaction to finding myself in a situation I don’t want to be in is to get out, and second is to change the situation.  Rarely do I consider that I’m the one that needs to change.  When my husband passed away I quickly found myself in my old routine, denying an unchangeable situation.  I know from experience that some things just can’t be ignored, and with the second option not available, I finally had to face the challenge of transforming me.  A challenge is a test; a dare to do something.  The challenge to make this change, was not just any old dare, it was the double dog dare. The life I lived for almost 40 years was gone; that’s a lot of years to become who I was, to figure out a life pattern, to define myself, to become comfortable.  There’s nothing wrong with patterns, definitions, and comfortable, but these things impede the possibility of change.  Instead of dreading change, why not embrace it; challenging myself to improve on who I was last year or even yesterday.

Leave a Reply

