Friendship

For most of my life, I didn’t have an overwhelming need to have friends.  But when I started my new job in New Hampshire and living there on my own, I was fortunate to find three amazing ladies who became my friends and an important part of my life. Their importance lessened somewhat when my husband joined me; after all he was my best friend.  Now that he’s gone, the need for friends is important again and looking back, it should never have been otherwise.  As I define it now, friendship is an equally needed connection between two people; supporters not lovers.  Even living far away, I can include them in my life, and they can include me in theirs by calling and visiting.  Getting a call and calling are two different things: a call from a friend means they thought of me, but calling a friend means they feel thought of.  Being visited and visiting are two different things: a visit from a friend means they want to be part of my life, but visiting a friend means they know I want to share their life.  Both parties investing equal parts of themselves in this amazing relationship called friendship.

Leave a Reply

