Cleaning

It’s my belief that everyone needs at least one friend they can say anything to, who can comment or not without passing judgement.  They don’t have to understand or agree; they just need to listen. I’ve experienced tough assignments at work that I couldn’t quite figure out until I talked through them.  If talking worked for these situations why wouldn’t it work for personal thoughts that churn around and around in my head? I might be trying to figure something out, express frustrations, or rid myself of guilt, and these detrimental thoughts keep repeating over and over in my mind.  I’ve tried to stop this kind of thinking, but it’s a tough battle.  It’s doesn’t work to talk to an empty room either; talking is required, but to someone is the key.  I found if I express these thoughts, whether in person, on the phone, or through an e-mail, it frees them from my mind and they don’t come back. I don’t want to make it sound like expressing myself is easy.  For one very difficult thought, regarding my husband’s death, I waited years. We clean kitchen cupboards, closets, and basements, why not our minds.

Leave a Reply

