I Think I Can

It’s hard being the only one maintaining a household. I go to the dump, shop for groceries, remove the snow, mow the lawn, cook, clean, and pay the bills. Some of these things I did before my husband passed away. Some I was very capable of doing, but I didn’t want to or need to. The first time I went to the dump and recycling center by myself I was very worried that I’d look like an idiot if I didn’t do it exactly right. I didn’t do it exactly right and I might have looked like an idiot, but I figured it out. The first time I plowed the driveway with the tractor by myself, I cried. Well that’s not entirely true. Every time I plowed the driveway I cried. Now I have a much shorter driveway and a snowblower that’s very easy to use. I’ve had a lot of these firsts in my life; some took time to learn, thankfully with the help of patient friends showing me how. Some I had to get up the courage to try, knowing I might not get it exactly right the first time, but I would figure it out eventually.

Leave a Reply

