Busy

Yesterday was one of those days when lots of little things went wrong – like dropping my keys twice, dropping butter in my tea – you get the picture. I used to say “Really?” or “I can’t believe it!” or “You’ve got to be kidding!”, but not anymore. These things are common place so why bother – they are reality, they are believable, and no one’s kidding. I’ve noticed that little things go wrong when I’m the busiest. Needing to stay busy started after I retired because it meant not sitting around being sad and lonely. Each evening I would wonder if it was possible to fill up tomorrow’s free time and if I couldn’t figure it out, I would sleep as late as possible. But lately I’ve been getting better at balancing busy and relaxing. I get up at the same time every day and enjoy my hobbies, limit how much TV I watch, exercise on a regular basis, and generally don’t need every moment of my day planned out. I only have the hours ahead of me, not behind. I can make them productive or relaxing, happy or sad, or enjoyable, but I will not waste them.

Leave a Reply

