Remember

My grandson was born in 2012 and my granddaughter, three and a half years later. My husband never knew what it was like to be a grandpa. Of all the sad places I can go, this is the one I go to most often. He would have been an amazing grandpa and he’s missing it. He doesn’t know he’s missing it; I do, my daughter does. It made me think about my grandparents and why remembering stops. I don’t want the remembering of my husband to stop so I created a book for each of my children with pictures of him over the almost 37 years we spent together. I also talk to my grandson often about things his grandpa made and we look at the pictures so he’ll know his grandpa as much as he can. I just started telling him his grandpa’s stories like when he was chased by a moose and about the snake that got lost in his truck. I also started writing about his life so even though they will never meet, I hope his grandchildren will know who he was and keep his memory alive.

One thought on “Remember

  1. This made me cry, in my office, but in a wonderful remembering kind of way. Remembering what a wonderful, dynamic, and even enigmatic man Uncle Jeff is. You’re an amazing writer by the way, but you probably already know that 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

