Just a Stink Bug

After writing about the word just last week, I’ve really become aware of using it.  I’ve been adding it to things to make them not matter by emphasize their “unimportantness”; it’s just a mess, easily “cleanupable”.  I used it to describe water, but changed it to only, because water is so necessary to all life, I didn’t want its importance diminished to nothing.  I tried to use it after my sleep was disturbed by very noisy neighbors, but saying it’s just the neighbors didn’t get me past the noise and back to sleep.  I’m sure they weren’t thinking about just their neighbors at all – I ordered a noise therapy device.  I described the snow with it today; just a little snow, but no, wrong again weatherman, 4” and still coming.  My sister interrupted our phone conversation a few days ago to bring a stink bug to its demise.  We agreed, it was just a stink bug;  just being very appropriate since neither of us could come up with a reason for stink bugs to exist.  Just a stick bug really emphasized the point of never saying just me – putting me in the same category as a stink bug? Not ever!

Leave a comment